La-JJ-by-Michel-Diedrix.jpg

CLAP TRAP - Absurd or nonsensical talk or ideas.

A new series of performance, talks, Q and A and readings from a rich array of performers of the past and present.

The first night we are joined by curator, writer and performer La JohnJoseph with guests.

FEATURING THE IMMENSE TALENTS OF: Katherine Angel & Rupert Smith

La JohnJoseph will be reading from his debut novel, "Everyting Must Go", and presenting a few new inspirational monologues to help you live a better life.

She will be joined by Katherine Angel author of "Unmastered: A book on desire, most difficult to tell", and Rupert Smith, award winning writer of the new novel "Interlude".

La JohnJoseph is a writer and performer, Dazed Digital calls one of the "literary" rebels you need to know. The author of five ensemble pieces, three solo plays and a libretto, his memoir play "Boy in a Dress" was critically acclaimed at the Edinburgh Fringe and went on to enjoy a sold-out UK tour in 2013. This year she played the Duchess of Malfi to overwhelmingly positive reviews. A contributing blogger for The Independent, The Guardian and The Huffington Post, his writers have also appeared in Out There, Attitude, Next, parterre de Rois and the 'zines Birdsong, fat zine.

"La JohnJoseph has fashioned a wonderland of depravity that perches somehow outside of all four dimensions"-Dazed Digital

Katherine Angel currently holds a fellowship at the centre for the History of Emotions at Queen Mary. Her research and writing are published in a range of journals and magazines, including Aeon, The Independent, the New Statesman, prospect and Five Dials. She reviews for the Times Literary supplement and Poetry Review, and collaborates with The Blackburn Company on a performance reading of Unmastered. She is currently writing a book on the subjecthood, post-feminism, and 'female sexual dysfunction'.

Rupert Smith examines changing attitudes to homosexuality, for fans of Alan Hollinghurst, Rupert was the winner of the 2010 Sonewall Award for Man's World (Arcadia).He is also the written several novels of Gay erotica under the name James Lear.

Doors at 7pm. Running order to be confirmed. £5 Tickets available on the door and other sites to be added